Election results certified

The general election results were certified yesterday afternoon.

The close race for Mayor of Elma saw Jim Sorensen extend his lead and win over incumbent .

Sorensen finished with 405 votes and 51.01% to Osgood’s 389 votes and 48.99%.

In the seven races for mayor around the county only two were won by incumbents with Mayor Crystal Dingler retaining her position in and Mayor in Cosmopolis who ran unopposed.

Joining Sorensen in Elma as new mayors in the county are in Hoquiam, Erik Larson in Aberdeen, Vini Samuel in Montesano and Rob Bearden in .

The three tight races in Hoquiam for council positions did not see changes in results.

Hoquiam Councilman Paul McMillan closed the gap to three votes in his race against Dave Wilson Sr. but Wilson held on for the 143 to 140 win. Wilson took in 50.53% of the vote.

Logan Livingston held on and defeated Ray Springer 100 to 96 for Hoquiam’s Ward 2 Position 3, and Brenda Carlstrom maintained her lead over Hoquiam Councilman Ron Tibbetts with a count of 117 to 112.

With the election certification Montesano appointed a new council person.

Nikki (Hutchinson) King who beat Barry Iverson 667 to 567 for the open Montesano Position 5 seat was appointed at last night’s council meeting.

The seat was left vacant when former councilman Lyle Powell resigned last month.


Nikki (Hutchinson) King is sworn in at Montesano’s council meeting.



Fire in Aberdeen damages home Man arrested for DUI after found parked on top of grave Fisherman stuck on Willapa rocks saved by Coast Guard Aberdeen School Board selects site for new Stevens Elementary Montesano will see traffic backups similar to McCleary Washington adopts marine spatial plan after 6 years of planning